Home - VIS Vatican - Receive VIS - Contact us - Calendar

The Vatican Information Service is a news service, founded in the Holy See Press Office, that provides information about the Magisterium and the pastoral activities of the Holy Father and the Roman Curia...[]

Last 5 news

VISnews in Twitter Go to YouTube

Monday, January 5, 2015

The Pope appoints 20 new cardinals

Vatican City, 4 December 2015 (VIS) – Pope Francis announced, at the end of today's Angelus, that on 14 February 2015, feast of St. Valentine, a consistory will be held for the creation of twenty new cardinals – fifteen electors and five non-electors – originating from fourteen countries from all over the world, demonstrating “an indissoluble bond between the Church of Rome and the particular Churches present throughout the world”.

The day after the consistory, the Holy Father will preside at a concelebration with the new cardinals, while on 12 and 13 February a consistory will take place with all the cardinals to reflect on the orientations and proposals for reform of the Roman Curia.

The new cardinal electors are:

- Archbishop Dominique Mamberti, titular of Sagona, prefect of the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura;

- Patriarch Manuel Jose Macario do Nascimento Clemente of Lisbon, Portugal;

- Archbishop Berhaneyesus Demerew Souraphiel, C.M., of Addis Abeba, Ethiopia;

- Archbishop John Atcherley Dew of Wellington, New Zealand;

- Archbishop Edoardo Menichelli of Ancona-Osimo, Italy;

- Archbishop Pierre Nguyen Van Nhon of Ha Noi, Vietnam;

- Archbishop Alberto Suarez Inda of Morelia, Mexico;

- Archbishop Charles Maung Bo, S.D.B., of Yangon, Myanmar;

- Archbishop Francis Xavier Kriengsak Kovithavanij of Bangkok, Thailand;

- Archbishop Francesco Montenegro of Agrigento, Italy;

- Archbishop Daniel Fernando Sturla Berhouet, S.D.B., of Montevideo, Uruguay;

- Archbishop Ricardo Blazquez Perez of Valladolid, Spain;

- Bishop Jose Luis Lacunza Maestrojuan, O.A.R., of David, Panama;

- Bishop Arlindo Gomes Furtado of Santiago de Cabo Verde, Cape Verde;

- Bishop Soane Patita Paini Mafi of Tonga, Tonga.

The five non-electors are:

- Archbishop Jose de Jesus Pimiento Rodriguez, emeritus of Manizales, Colombia;

- Archbishop Luigi De Magistris, pro-major penitentiary emeritus, Italy;

- Archbishop Karl-Joseph Rauber, apostolic nuncio, Germany;

- Archbishop Luis Hector Villalba, emeritus of Tucuman, Argentina;

- Bishop Julio Duarte Langa, emeritus of Xai-Xai, Mozambique.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Copyright © VIS - Vatican Information Service