Home - VIS Vatican - Receive VIS - Contact us - Calendar

The Vatican Information Service is a news service, founded in the Holy See Press Office, that provides information about the Magisterium and the pastoral activities of the Holy Father and the Roman Curia...[]

Last 5 news

VISnews in Twitter Go to YouTube

Monday, November 26, 2007


VATICAN CITY, NOV 24, 2007 (VIS) - Following are the names of the 23 new cardinals created by Pope Benedict XVI in this morning's consistory, and the titular or diaconate churches he assigned to them:

1. Cardinal Emmanuel III Delly, patriarch of Babylon of the Chaldeans.

2. Cardinal Leonardo Sandri, diaconate of Sts. Blaise and Charles ai Catinari.

3. Cardinal John Patrick Foley, diaconate of St. Sebastian al Palatino.

4. Cardinal Giovanni Lajolo, diaconate of St. Mary "Liberatrice" a Monte Testaccio.

5. Cardinal Paul Josef Cordes, diaconate of St. Lawrence in Piscibus.

6. Cardinal Angelo Comastri, diaconate of St. Salvatore in Lauro.

7. Cardinal Stanislaw Rylko, diaconate of the Sacred Heart of Christ the King.

8. Cardinal Raffaele Farina S.D.B., diaconate of St. John della Pigna.

9. Cardinal Agustín Garcia-Gasco Vicente, title of St. Marcellus.

10. Cardinal Sean Baptist Brady, title of Sts. Quiricus and Julitta.

11. Cardinal Lluis Martinez Sistach, title of St. Sebastian at the Catacombs.

12. Cardinal Andre Vingt-Trois, title of San Luigi dei Francesi.

13. Cardinal Angelo Bagnasco, title of the Gran Madre di Dio.

14. Cardinal Theodore-Adrien Sarr, title of St. Lucy a Piazza d'Armi.

15. Cardinal Oswald Gracias, title of St. Paul of the Cross a "Corviale."

16. Cardinal Francisco Robles Ortega, title of St. Mary of the Presentation.

17. Cardinal Daniel N. DiNardo, title of St. Eusebius.

18. Cardinal Odilo Pedro Scherer, title of St. Andrew al Quirinale.

19. Cardinal John Njue, title of the Most Precious Blood of Our Lord Jesus Christ.

20. Cardinal Giovanni Coppa, diaconate of St. Linus.

21. Cardinal Estanislao Esteban Karlic, title of the Our Lady of Sorrows in Piazza Buenos Aires.

22. Cardinal Urbano Navarrete S.J., diaconate de St. Pontian.

23. Cardinal Umberto Betti O.F.M., diaconate of Sts. Vitus, Modestus and Crescentia.
.../TITULAR CHURCHES DIACONATES/...            VIS 20071126 (310)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Copyright © VIS - Vatican Information Service