Home - VIS Vatican - Receive VIS - Contact us - Calendar

The Vatican Information Service is a news service, founded in the Holy See Press Office, that provides information about the Magisterium and the pastoral activities of the Holy Father and the Roman Curia...[]

Last 5 news

VISnews in Twitter Go to YouTube

Thursday, December 19, 2013


Vatican City, 19 December 2013 (VIS) - Today, the Holy Father:

- appointed Msgr. Gabriele as bishop of Gregorio de Laferrere (area 1,393, population 756,000, Catholics 682,000, priests 46, permanent deacons 15, religious 86), Argentina. The bishop-elect was born in Moron, Argentina in 1964 and was ordained a priest in 1989. He holds a licentiate in canon law from the Pontifical Catholic University, Argentina. He has served in a number of pastoral and administrative roles, including vicar in the parishes of “San Judas Tadeo” and “San Francisco de Asis”, parish administrator and subsequently priest of “Cristo del Perdon”, secretary of the Episcopal Vicariate of Youth, chancellor of the diocesan Curia and the presbyteral council, instructor of the diocesan Judicial Commission and the Commission for priestly causes, director of the diaconal school and head of formation of permanent deacons, vice president of Caritas in the diocese, pro-vicar general, vicar general and moderator of the Curia. He is also professor of canon law at the Pontifical Catholic University, Argentina. He succeeds Bishop Juan Horacio Suarez, whose resignation from the pastoral care of the same diocese the Holy Father accepted, upon having reached the age limit.

- appointed Msgr. Jean-Marc Aveline as auxiliary of the archdiocese of Marseille (area 650, population 1,042,000, Catholics 711,000, priests 298, permanent deacons 26, religious 728), France. The bishop-elect was born in Sidi Bel Abbes, Algeria in 1958 and was ordained a priest in 1984. He holds a licentiate in theology from the Institut Catholique, Paris, a licentiate in philosophy from the University of Paris I and IV Sorbonne, and a doctorate in theology. He has served in a number of pastoral and academic roles, including professor of theology and director of studies in the interdiocesan seminary of Marseille, founder and director of the Institut de sciences e des religions in (ISTR) Marseille, head of the diocesan service for vocations and diocesan delegate for seminarians, director of the Institut Saint-Jean, later the Institut Catholique de la Mediterranee, and Episcopal Vicar responsible for formation. Since 2007 he has been the vicar general of Marseille. He is also the founder and chief editor of the magazin “Chemins de dialogue”, and member of the editorial boards of “Editions de l'Atelier' and “Recherches de sciences religieuses”. He has also served as consultor for the Pontifical Council for Interreligious Dialogue.

- confirmed Cardinal Angelo Amato “donec aliter provideatur” in the role of prefect of the Congregation of the Causes of Saints;

- confirmed Archbishop Marcello Bartolucci as secretary of the same dicastery;

- confirmed the following as members of the same dicastery: Cardinal Jean-Claude Turcotte, Cardinal Juan Luis Cipriani Thorne, Cardinal Ennio Antonelli, Cardinal Agostino Vallini, Cardinal Antonio Canizares Llovera, Cardinal Paul Josef Cordes, Cardinal Angelo Comastri, Cardinal Stanislaw Rylko, Cardinal Francesco Monterisi, Cardinal Kurt Koch, Cardinal Paolo Sardi, Cardinal Velasio De Paolis, Cardinal Manuel Monteiro de Castro, Cardinal Santos Abril y Castello, Cardinal Francesco Coccopalmerio, Cardinal James Michael Harvey, Archbishop Felix del Blanco Prieto, Archbishop Fabio Berardo D'Onorio, Archbishop Giovanni Paolo Benotto, Archbishop Salvatore Fisichella, Archbishop Zygmunt Zimowski, Archbishop Renato Boccardo, Bishop Lorenzo Chiarinelli, Bishop Marcello Semeraro, Bishop Lino Fumagalli, Bishop Paolino Schiavon, Bishop Antoni Stankiewicz, Bishop Gianfranco Girotti, Bishop Ambrogio Spreafico, Bishop Raffaello Martinelli;

- confirmed the following as Consultors of the same dicastery: Bishop Sergio Pagano, Bishop Joaquin Alonso Pacheco, Rev. Francesco Asti, Rev. Nicola Bux, Rev. Alfonso C. Chacon Oreja, Msgr. Lorenzo Dattrino, Rev. Miguel De Salis Amaral, Rev. Antonio Escudero Cabello, S.D.B., Fr. Maurizio Pietro Faggioni, O.F.M., Msgr. Jair Ferreira Pena, Rev. Jesús Manuel García Gutiérrez, S.D.B., Fr. Wojciech Giertych, O.P., Fr. François-Marie Léthel, O.C.D., Fr. Mieczys_aw Lubomirski, S.J., Fr. Sabatino Majorano, C.SS.R., Fr. Germano Marani, S.J., Msgr. Guido Mazzotta, Rev. Aimable Musoni, S.D.B., Fr. Stéphane Oppes, O.F.M., Fr. Adam Owczarski, C.SS.R., Msgr. Mario Pangallo, Fr. Szczepan T. Pralkiewicz, O.C.D., Fr. Marek Adam Rostkowski, O.M.I., Fr. Felice Ruffini, M.I., Msgr. Erich Schmid, Fr. Zbigniew Suchecki, O.F.M. Conv.; Fr. Damian Jan Synowiec, O.F.M. Conv., Fr. Mihály Szentmártoni, S.J., Msgr. Francesco Maria Tasciotti; Fr. Angelo Giuseppe Urru, O.P., Rev. Filippo Urso; Fr. Alberto Valentini, S.M.M., Fr. Adam Wolanin, S.J., Fr. Alfonso Amarante, C.SS.R., Sister Albarosa Ines Bassani, S.D.V.I., Professor Pietro Borzomati, Fr. Marcel Chappin, S.J., Msgr. Luis Manuel Cuña Ramos, Fr. Fidel González Fernández, M.C.C.J., Johan Ickx; Msgr. Wilhelm Imkamp, Fr. Gabriele Ingegneri, O.F.M. Cap., Fr. Marek Inglot, S.J., Fr. Carlo Longo, O.P., Sister Grazia Loparco, F.M.A., Christoph Ludwig, Fr. Luigi Nuovo, C.M., Professor Ulderico Parente, Gaetano Passarelli, Professor Francesco Ricciardi Celsi, Rev. Giorgio Rossi, S.D.B. and Msgr. Mario Sensi.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Copyright © VIS - Vatican Information Service