Home - VIS Vatican - Receive VIS - Contact us - Calendar

The Vatican Information Service is a news service, founded in the Holy See Press Office, that provides information about the Magisterium and the pastoral activities of the Holy Father and the Roman Curia...[]

Last 5 news

VISnews in Twitter Go to YouTube

Wednesday, June 27, 2012


Vatican City,  (VIS) - The Holy See Press Office today issued a note explaining the new form of the rite for imposing the pallium on metropolitan archbishops, which takes place annually on 29 June, Solemnity of Sts. Peter and Paul Apostles.

"Things will remain substantially the same", the note reads, "but this year, following a logic of development in continuity, it has been decided simply to move the rite itself, and it will now take place before the Eucharistic celebration.

"The modification has been approved by the Holy Father and is motivated by the following reasons:

"1. To make the rite shorter. The list of new metropolitan archbishops will be read out immediately before the entry of the opening procession and the singing of 'Tu es Petrus', and it will not be part of the celebration. The rite of the palliums will take place as soon as the Holy Father reaches the altar.

"2. To ensure that the Eucharistic celebration is not 'interrupted' by a relatively long rite (the number of metropolitan archbishops now stands at around forty-five each year), which could make attentive and focused participation in the Mass more difficult.

"3. To make the rite of imposing the pallium more in keeping with the 'Cerimoniale Episcoporum', and to avoid the possibility that, by coming after the homily (as happened in the past), it may be thought of as a Sacramental rite. Indeed, the rites which take place during a Eucharistic celebration following the homily are normally Sacramental rites: Baptism, Confirmation, Ordination, Matrimony, Anointing of the Sick. The imposition of the pallium, on the other hand, is not Sacramental in nature".

The following metropolitan archbishops will receive the pallium in this year's ceremony:

- Cardinal Rainer Maria Woelki, archbishop of Berlin, Germany.

- Cardinal Francisco Robles Ortega, archbishop of Guadalajara, Mexico.

- Archbishop Francesco Moraglia, patriarch of Venice, Italy.

- Archbishop Alfredo Horacio Zecca of Tucuman, Argentina.

- Archbishop Mario Alberto Molina Palma O.A.R. of Los Altos, Quetzaltenango-Totonicapan, Guatemala.

- Archbishop Charles Joseph Chaput O.F.M. Cap. of Philadelphia, U.S.A.

- Archbishop Luc Cyr of Sherbrooke, Canada.

- Archbishop Salvador Pineiro Garcia-Calderon of Ayacucho or Huamanga, Peru.

- Archbishop Francesco Panfilo S.D.B. of Rabaul, Papua New Guinea.

- Archbishop Ulises Antonio Gutierrez Reyes O. de M. of Ciudad Bolivar, Venezuela.

- Archbishop Stanisław Budzik of Lublin, Poland.

- Archbishop Wilson Tadeu Jonck S.C.I. of Florianopolis, Brazil.

- Archbishop Paul-Andre Durocher of Gatineau, Canada.

- Archbishop Luis Antonio G. Tagle of Manila, Philippines.

- Archbishop Patrick D’Rozario C.S.C. of Dhaka, Bangladesh.

- Archbishop Wiktor Pawel Skworc of Katowice, Poland.

- Archbishop Jose F. Advincula of Capiz, Philippines.

- Archbishop Filippo Santoro of Taranto, Italy.

- Archbishop Jose Francisco Rezende Dias of Niteroi, Brazil.

- Archbishop Esmeraldo Barreto de Farias of Porto Velho, Brazil.

- Archbishop Jaime Vieira Rocha of Natal, Brazil.

- Archbishop Joseph Harris C.S.Sp. of Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago.

- Archbishop Waclaw Depo of Czestochowa, Poland.

- Archbishop Ignatius Chama of Kasama, Zambia.

- Archbishop Pascal Wintzer of Poitiers, France.

- Archbishop John Moolachira of Guwahati, India.

- Archbishop William Charles Skurla of Pittsburgh of the Byzantines, U.S.A.

- Archbishop Joseph Coutts of Karachi, Pakistan.

- Archbishop Romulo Geolina Valles of Davao, Philippines.

- Archbishop Airton Jose dos Santos of Campinas, Brazil.

- Archbishop Timothy Costelloe S.D.B. of Perth, Australia.

- Archbishop Jacinto Furtado de Brito Sobrinho of Teresina, Brazil.

- Archbishop Thomas D’Souza of Calcutta, India.

- Archbishop Arrigo Miglio of Cagliari, Italy.

- Archbishop John F. Du of Palo, Philippines.

- Archbishop Paulo Mendes Peixoto of Uberaba, Brazil.

- Archbishop Christian Lepine of Montreal, Canada.

- Archbishop William Edward Lori of Baltimore, U.S.A.

- Archbishop Mark Benedict Coleridge of Brisbane, Australia.

- Archbishop Jesus Carlos Cabrero Romero of San Luis Potosi, Mexico.

- Archbishop Andrew Yeom Soo jung of Seoul, Korea.

- Archbishop Benedito Roberto C.S.Sp. of Malanje, Angola.

- Archbishop Alfred Adewale Martins of Lagos, Nigeria.

- Archbishop Samuel Joseph Aquila of Denver, U.S.A.

The following two archbishops will receive the pallium in their metropolitan sees:

- Archbishop Gabriel Justice Yaw Anokye of Kumasi, Ghana.

- Archbishop Valery Vienneau of Moncton, Canada.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Copyright © VIS - Vatican Information Service