Home - VIS Vatican - Receive VIS - Contact us - Calendar

The Vatican Information Service is a news service, founded in the Holy See Press Office, that provides information about the Magisterium and the pastoral activities of the Holy Father and the Roman Curia...[]

Last 5 news

VISnews in Twitter Go to YouTube

Tuesday, June 22, 2010


VATICAN CITY, 22 JUN 2010 (VIS) - At 9.30 a.m. on Tuesday 29 June, Solemnity of Sts. Peter and Paul Apostles, Benedict XVI will preside at a Eucharistic concelebration with the following 38 metropolitan archbishops upon whom he will impose the pallium:

 - Archbishop Luis Gerardo Herrera O.F.M. of Cuenca, Ecuador.

 - Archbishop Alex Thomas Kaliyanil S.V.D. of Bulawayo, Zimbabwe.

 - Archbishop Gerard Tlali Lerotholi O.M.I. of Maseru, Lesotho.

 - Archbishop Antonio Fernando Saburido O.S.B. of Olinda and Recife, Brazil.

 - Archbishop Albert Legatt of Saint-Boniface, Canada.

 - Archbishop Gualtiero Bassetti of Perugia - Citta della Pieve, Italy.

 - Archbishop Andrea Bruno Mazzocato of Udine, Italy.

 - Archbishop Gabriel Mblinghi C.S.Sp. of Lubango, Angola.

 - Archbishop Socrates B. Villegas of Lingayen-Dagupan, Philppines.

 - Archbishop Constancio Miranda Weckmann of Chihuahua, Mexico.

 - Archbishop Bernard Longley of Birmingham, England.

 - Archbishop Juan Jose Asenjo Pelegrina of Seville, Spain.

 - Archbishop Jerome Edward Listecki of Milwaukee, U.S.A.

 - Archbishop Samuel Kleda of Douala, Cameroon.

 - Archbishop Jesus Sanz Montes O.F.M. of Oviedo, Spain.

 - Archbishop Anton Stres C.M. of Ljubljana, Slovenia.

 - Archbishop Joseph Atanga S.J. of Bertoua, Cameroon.

 - Archbishop Stephen Brislin of Cape Town, South Africa.

 - Archbishop Dennis M. Schnurr of Cincinnati, U.S.A.

 - Archbishop Alberto Taveira Correa of Belem do Para, Brazil.

 - Archbishop Andre-Mutien Leonard of Mechelen-Brussels, Belgium.

 - Archbishop Antonio Lanfranchi of Modena - Nonantola, Italy.

 - Archbishop Dominik Duka O.P. of Prague, Czech Republic.

 - Archbishop Ricardo Antonio Tobon Restrepo of Medellin, Colombia.

 - Archbishop Jose Domingo Ulloa Mendieta O.S.A. of Panama, Panama.

 - Archbishop Francis Kallarakal of Verapoly, India.

 - Archbishop Desire Tsarahazana of Toamasina, Madagascar.

 - Archbishop Ricardo Blazquez Perez of Valladolid, Spain.

 - Archbishop Hyginus Kim Hee-joong of Kwangju, Korea.

 - Archbishop Luis Madrid Merlano of Nueva Pamplona, Colombia.

 - Archbishop Thomas Gerard Wenski of Miami, U.S.A.

 - Archbishop Peter Smith of Southwark, England.

 - Archbishop Jozef Kowalczyk of Gniezno, Poland.

 - Archbishop Pierre Nguyen Van Nhon of Hanoi, Vietnam.

 - Archbishop Matthias Kobena Nketsiah of Cape Coast, Ghana.

 - Archbishop Bernard Bober of Kosice, Slovakia.

 - Archbishop Carlos Garfias Merlos of Acapulco, Mexico.

 - Archbishop Luigi Moretti of Salerno - Campagna - Acerno, Italy.
OCL/                                    VIS 20100622 (370)


VATICAN CITY, 22 JUN 2010 (VIS) - The Holy Father appointed:

 - Bishop Joseph Patrick McFadden, auxiliary of the archdiocese of Philadelphia, U.S.A., as bishop of Harrisburg (area 19,839, population 2,060,000, Catholics 248,000, priests 179, permanent deacons 49, religious 394), U.S.A.

 - Appointed Fr. Andres Vargas Pena of the clergy of the diocese of San Luis Potosi, Mexico, episcopal vicar for pastoral care, and Fr. Adolfo Miguel Castano Fonseca of the clergy of the diocese of Toluca, Mexico, professor at the diocesan seminary, as auxiliaries of Mexico (area 1,429, population 8,781,000, Catholics 7,845,500, priests 1,757, permanent deacons 135, religious 7,229), Mexico. Bishop-elect Vargas Pena was born in Villa de la Paz, Mexico in 1946 and ordained a priest in 1973. Bishop-elect Castano Fonseca was born in San Mateo Mozoquilpan, Mexico in 1962 and ordained a priest in 1987.

 - Appointed Msgr. Michael J. Fitzgerald of the clergy of the archdiocese of Philadelphia, U.S.A., judicial vicar, as auxiliary of the same archdiocese (area 5,652, population 3,887,694, Catholics 1,458,430, priests 999, permanent deacons 239, religious 3,370). The bishop-elect was born in Montclair, U.S.A. in 1948 and ordained a priest in 1980.

 - Appointed as members of the administrative council of the Pontifical Academy for Life: Bishop Fernando Natalio Chomali Garib, auxiliary of Santiago de Chile, Chile; Mounir Abdel Messih Shehata Farag of Egypt; Gian Luigi Gigli of Italy; John Hass of U.S.A., and Monica Lopez Barahona of Spain.

 - Appointed Msgr. Giovanni Pietro Dal Toso, under secretary of the Pontifical Council "Cor Unum", as secretary of the same dicastery.
NEA:NA/                                VIS 20100622 (260)
Copyright © VIS - Vatican Information Service