Home - VIS Vatican - Receive VIS - Contact us - Calendar

The Vatican Information Service is a news service, founded in the Holy See Press Office, that provides information about the Magisterium and the pastoral activities of the Holy Father and the Roman Curia...[]

Last 5 news

VISnews in Twitter Go to YouTube

Thursday, September 8, 2005


VATICAN CITY, SEP 8, 2005 (VIS) - The Holy Father appointed:

 - Msgr. Maroun Elias Lahham of the clergy of the Patriarchate of Jerusalem of the Latins, rector of the patriarchal seminary of Beit Jala, as bishop of Tunis (area 164,000, population 9,700,000, Catholics 20,000, priests 34, religious 164), Tunisia. The bishop-elect was born in Irbed, Jordan in 1948 and ordained a priest in 1972.

- Archbishop-Bishop Fouad Twal of Tunis, Tunisia, as coadjutor of the Patriarchate of Jerusalem of the Latins (Catholics 77,000, priests 372, religious 1,642).

 - As members of the Eleventh Ordinary General Assembly of the Synod of Bishops: Cardinals Joachim Meisner, archbishop of Cologne, Germany; Miguel Obando Bravo S.D.B., archbishop emeritus of Managua, Nicaragua; Jozef Tomko, president of the Pontifical Commission for International Eucharistic Congresses; Adrianus Johannes Simonis, archbishop of Utrecht, Netherlands; Edmund Casimir Szoka, president of the Governorate of Vatican City State; Vinko Puljic, archbishop of Vrhbosna, Sarajevo, Bosnia-Herzegovina; Paul Shan Kuo-hsi, bishop of Kaohsiung, Taiwan; Ivan Dias, archbishop of Bombay, India; Francisco Javier Errazuriz Ossa, archbishop of Santiago de Chile, Chile, president of the Latin American Episcopal Council (CELAM); George Pell, archbishop of Sydney, Australia; Marc Ouellet P.S.S., archbishop of Quebec, Canada; Jorge Arturo Medina Estevez, prefect emeritus of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments; Jean Louis Tauran, archivist and librarian of Holy Roman Church; Francesco Marchisano, archpriest of the Vatican Basilica; Georges Marie Martin Cottier O.P., pro-theologian of the Papal Household; Archbishops Paul Verdzekov of Bamenda, Cameroun; Joseph Powathil of Changanacherry of the Syro-Malabars, India; Joseph Mohsen Bechara of Antelias of the Maronites, Lebanon; Francesco Cacucci of Bari Bitonto, Italy; John Olorunfemi Onaiyekan of Abuja, Nigeria, president of the Symposium of the Episcopal Conferences of Africa and Madagascar (SCEAM); Stefan Soroka of Philadelphia of the Ukrainians, U.S.A.; Oswald Thomas Colman Gomis of Colombo, Sri Lanka, secretary general of the Federation of Asian Bishops' Conferences (FABC); Archbishop-Bishop Cyrille Salim Bustros M.S.S.P., of Newton of the Greek-Melkites, U.S.A.; Bishops Denis George Browne of Hamilton in New Zealand, president of the Federation of Catholic Bishops' Conferences of Oceania; Amedee Grab O.S.B., of Chur, Switzerland, president of the Council of European Episcopal Conferences (CCEE); Javier Echevarria Rodriguez, prelate of the personal prelature of Opus Dei; Joseph Zen Ze Kiun S.D.B., of Hong Kong, China; Jean Louis Brugues O.P. of Angers, France; Arthur Roche of Leeds; Menghisteab Tesfamariam of Asmara, Eritrea; Antonio Li Duan, Xi'an; Luca Li Jingfeng, Fengxiang; Aloysius Jin Luxian, Shanghai; Giuseppe Wei Jingyi, Qiqihar; Frs. Peter Hans Kolvenbach S.J., superior general of the Society of Jesus (Jesuits); Julian Carron, president of the Community and Liberation association.
NER:NEC:NA/.../...                                VIS 20050908 (440)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Copyright © VIS - Vatican Information Service